Blind Exemption

Blind Exemption (Motor Vehicle or Real Estate)

State Mandated Exemption - State law provides for a property tax exemption, in the amount of $3,000, to certain persons who are blind. An application must be filed by October 1st. 

Blindness is defined in CGS §12-92 as meaning “ and permanent loss of sight in both eyes or reduction in vision so that the central visual acuity does not exceed 20/200 in the better eye with correcting lenses, or, if visual acuity is greater than 20/200, it is accompanied by a limitation in the fields of vision such that the widest diameter of the visual field subtends an angle no greater than twenty degrees.”

Satisfactory proof would include a letter from a medical practitioner certifying the above vision limitations.

Local Option Exemption - The Town of Southington offers a town Local Option exemption of $2,000 off your assessment.  Individuals filing for the local option must meet the basic criteria above concerning blindness and also the State income limits.  The State’s 2023 income requirements are $53,400 for a married couple and $43,800 for a single person.  The filing period is February 1 - October 1.  Applicants must re-file every 2 years.

In Addition to the Above Conditions Homeowners Must:
Own the property or hold a tenancy for life or for a term of years, which makes the applicant liable for payment of taxes (CGS Sec. 12-48). The property must be the applicant’s primary residence (domicile).

You must be a permanent resident of the State of Connecticut. You cannot be receiving tax relief in another state. For example, it is illegal to simultaneously receive a Homestead Exemption in Florida and property tax relief in Connecticut.